Passer au contenu

Ottawa Centre de fertilité

Offrir des soins compatissants, de la compréhension et de l'espoir pendant votre voyage.

Conseil et soutien

BRIA - Soins de santé mentale virtuels pour les femmes

BRIA est une clinique virtuelle de soins de santé mentale pour soutenir ceux qui traversent le processus de fertilité. BRIA offre une thérapie individuelle et de couple, une thérapie pour les partenaires, un soutien au sommeil et à la nutrition, et des soins psychiatriques MD au besoin, en particulier pour résoudre les problèmes de médication. BRIA propose également des conseils sur les implications pour la procréation par un tiers et un bioéthicien qui peut soutenir les patients lorsqu'ils prennent des décisions difficiles. Si vous avez des questions sur des services spécifiques, BRIA offre un appel d'introduction gratuit de 15 minutes à ceux qui souhaitent en savoir plus. Pour réserver, merci rendez-vous sur le site de Bria. Veuillez parler à votre infirmière de l'OFC si vous ne bénéficiez pas d'une couverture complète des avantages sociaux pour savoir comment l'OFC peut vous aider à accéder aux services de la BRIA.

Services de conseil en reproduction

Stéphanie Parker MSW, RSW

Thérapie et évaluation du Village Westboro

Site Web
stephparker.msw@gmail.com
Téléphone: 613-614-1384

Services fournis:

  • Soutien au(x) futur(s) parent(s) et accompagnement du deuil
  • Conseils sur les implications pour les futurs parents
  • Évaluation par un tiers pour les donateurs

Services de consultation disponibles en français et en anglais
Rendez-vous disponibles en personne au bureau d'Ottawa ou virtuellement

Dre Sarah Birnie, C.Psych

Le Dr Birnie peut recevoir des références (et des auto-références) pour une psychothérapie dans les domaines suivants :

1. Soutenir le processus de traitement de l'infertilité incertaine, y compris l'ovule/le sperme du donneur.
2. Soutenir les personnes une fois enceintes après un traitement contre l'infertilité.
3. Soutenir le stress post-partum et l'adaptation une fois que le bébé/les bébés sont nés.

Visitez le site Web de Sarahinfo@drsarahbirnie.comTéléphone: 343-488-3211

Brooke Eagle MSW, RSW chez Vega Counseling

Site Web

brooke@vegacounwriting.ca

Services fournis:

Conseils en matière de procréation assistée en vue de toutes les formes de traitement de fertilité, y compris les conseils sur les implications pour les futurs parents et les tiers donneurs

Conseils en matière de fertilité

Soutenir la santé mentale périnatale et postnatale

Gerri Mileva M.Sc, PhD, RP (Qualification)

Site Web

milvapsychotherapy@gmail.com

Services fournis:

Que vous soyez aux prises avec l'infertilité, que vous utilisiez des technologies de procréation assistée ou que vous fassiez face à une perte de grossesse, je suis ici pour vous offrir un espace sûr et compatissant pour vous permettre de guérir et de grandir. Mon objectif est de vous responsabiliser, de vous aider à développer des stratégies d'adaptation et d'améliorer votre bien-être général, quel que soit le résultat de votre parcours de fertilité. Ensemble, nous explorerons vos sentiments, naviguerons dans les complexités des traitements médicaux et cultiverons un sentiment d'espoir et de résilience. Mon approche est centrée sur le client et éclectique, ce qui signifie que j'adapte mes interventions thérapeutiques pour répondre à vos besoins et objectifs uniques."

Attention : un psychothérapeute n'est pas en mesure de fournir une évaluation/diagnostic (psychologue clinicien) ou une médication (psychiatre/médecin de famille). De plus, pour le moment, je ne suis pas en mesure de fournir des conseils sur les implications d'une reproduction par un tiers.

Tarif : 145 $ par séance

Veuillez envoyer un e-mail pour plus d'informations ou pour réserver une consultation gratuite de 15 minutes

Ziva Shmorgun MSW, RSW

Conseiller en santé reproductive.
Spécialisée dans le conseil en implications pour la reproduction par tiers.
shmorgunz@gmail.com

Consultation sur les nouvelles origines

Site Web
Karin Schwartz: 604-831-6558
Janna Stark Glassman: 604-671-5068
Tarif : 165 $ de l'heure
Veuillez appeler pour prendre rendez-vous

Soutien par les pairs

Groupe de soutien par les pairs d'Ottawa : Joignez-vous à d'autres chaque mois pour écouter, apprendre et, espérons-le, rire un peu pendant que vous cherchez du soutien. Les réunions ont lieu au Centre de fertilité d'Ottawa le dernier samedi de chaque mois. Les séances sont organisées et animées par un animateur bénévole. Des conférenciers sont souvent invités à prendre la parole après les réunions.

Contactez Angela à : Ottawa.infertility.liason@gmail.com

Dates des réunions 2023 :

Samedi 28 janvier - 10h30-XNUMXh
Samedi 25 février - 10h30-XNUMXh
Samedi 25 mars - 10h30-XNUMXh
Samedi 29 avril - 10h30-XNUMXh
Samedi 27 mai - 10h30-XNUMXh
Samedi 24 juin - 10h30-XNUMXh
Samedi 29 juillet - 10h30-XNUMXh
Samedi 26 août - 10h30-XNUMXh
Samedi 30 septembre - 10h30-XNUMXh
Samedi 28 octobre - 10h30-XNUMXh
Samedi 25 novembre - 10h30-XNUMXh
Samedi, Décembre 30th - 10h30-XNUMXh

Pleine Conscience pour la Fertilité

Si vous faites face à des émotions difficiles parce que vous avez du mal à concevoir, vous n'êtes pas seul. Il est courant de se sentir anxieux, déprimé et isolé. Il a été bien documenté que les personnes ayant des problèmes de reproduction éprouvent des niveaux élevés de stress et des études ont montré que la pleine conscience peut aider à réduire la détresse émotionnelle. Mindfulness for Fertility est un programme expérientiel de 8 semaines basé sur des preuves qui est proposé en ligne et suit le programme de renommée mondiale de réduction du stress basé sur la pleine conscience (MBSR).

Session printemps 2023 :

Orientation - Vendredi 28 avril / 7h00-9h00 HE
8 vendredis - 5 mai - 23 juin / 7h00-9h00 HE

Visit leur site Web pour plus d'informations et inscription.

Regardez la vidéo

Informations générales

Questions de fertilité est une organisation nationale qui fournit du matériel éducatif, du soutien et de l'aide aux personnes et aux couples qui vivent l'angoisse de l'infertilité, la maladie de la santé reproductive qui touche plus d'un demi-million d'hommes et de femmes canadiens.

My Fertility Choices permet aux hommes et aux femmes d'obtenir un soutien pour prendre les décisions en matière de fertilité et de procréation qui correspondent le mieux à leurs situations de vie uniques. Le site Web fournit des informations actuelles, professionnelles et fiables sur la fertilité, la procréation assistée et diverses options de mode de vie et de construction de la famille, y compris la vie sans enfant.

Mères célibataires

Mère célibataire par choix est un groupe local de la région d'Ottawa pour les femmes qui sont peut-être déjà une « maman de choix » ou pour les femmes qui envisagent de devenir de manière proactive une mère célibataire.

LGBTQ

Trouver des informations et un soutien adaptés à votre situation particulière peut être un défi. Il existe de bonnes ressources disponibles pour les hommes et les femmes de la communauté LGBTQ qui cherchent des options pour fonder une famille.

Questions de fertilité

Groupes LGBTQ à Ottawa (non spécifiques à la fertilité)

Grossesse dans un groupe de soutien en cas de pandémie

Rejoignez ce groupe de soutien virtuel mensuel dirigé par des médecins spécialisés en obstétrique, en soins aux nouveau-nés et en santé mentale des nouveaux parents. Ils parleront des préoccupations et des difficultés les plus courantes d'être enceinte pendant la crise du COVID-19.

Grossesse dans une pandémie

Naissances multiples

Naissances multiples Canada a pour mission d'améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes issues de naissances multiples et de leurs familles au Canada. Ils fournissent du soutien, de l'éducation, de la recherche et du plaidoyer à l'échelle nationale et internationale aux individus, aux familles, aux chapitres et aux organisations qui ont un intérêt personnel ou professionnel dans les problèmes de naissances multiples.

Accompagnement des personnes atteintes du syndrome des ovaires polykystiques

PCOSupport Group est une organisation basée aux États-Unis qui est gérée par des femmes atteintes du SOPK et par ceux qui les soutiennent. Cette organisation se consacre à servir les nombreuses femmes qui luttent quotidiennement pour faire face à la qualité de vie ainsi qu'aux conséquences potentiellement mortelles du SOPK si elles ne sont pas traitées.

Conseillers juridiques

Il est important pour les patients de demander des conseils juridiques appropriés lorsqu'un tiers est impliqué, que ce soit en tant que donneur ou mère porteuse. Bien que nous ne soutenions aucun avocat ni aucune forme juridique en particulier, les cabinets suivants ont une expérience en matière de procréation assistée.

Erin Lépine, LLB – Richardson Hall (Ottawa) elepine@richardsonhall.com
Sara Cohen, LL.B. – Droit de la fertilité Canada (Toronto)
Sherry Levitan, LL.B. – Loi sur la fertilité (Toronto)

Scroll To Top

Skip to content

Ottawa Fertility Centre

Offering compassionate care, understanding, and hope on your journey.

Counseling & Support

BRIA - Virtual Mental Health Care for Women

BRIA is a virtual mental healthcare clinic to support those going through the fertility process. BRIA offers individual and couples therapy, therapy for partners, sleep and nutritional support, and MD Psychiatric care when needed, especially to address medication issues. BRIA also offers implications counselling for third-party reproduction, and a bioethicist who can support patients when making difficult decisions. If you have any questions about specific services, BRIA offers a free 15 minute introductory call to those wishing to learn more. To book, please go to the Bria website. Please talk to your OFC nurse if you don’t have complete benefits coverage to learn how OFC can support you accessing BRIA services.

Reproductive Counselling Services

Stephanie Parker MSW, RSW

Westboro Village Therapy and Assessment

Website
stephparker.msw@gmail.com
Telephone: 613-614-1384

Services provided:

  • Support for intended parent(s) and grief counselling
  • Implications counselling for intended parent(s)
  • 3rd party assessment for donors

Counselling services available in both French and English
Appointments available in person in Ottawa office or virtually

Dr. Sarah Birnie, C.Psych

Dr. Birnie can receive referrals (and self-referrals) for psychotherapy for the following areas:

1. Supporting the process of uncertain infertility treatment, including donor egg/sperm.
2. Supporting individuals once pregnant after infertility treatment.
3. Supporting postpartum stress and adjustment once baby/babies are born.

Visit Sarah's Websiteinfo@drsarahbirnie.comPhone: 343-488-3211

Brooke Eagle MSW, RSW at Vega Counselling

Website

brooke@vegacounselling.ca

Services provided:

Assisted reproduction counselling in preparation for all forms of fertility treatment, including implications counselling for intended parents and third-party donors

Fertility counselling

Supporting perinatal and postnatal mental health

Gerri Mileva M.Sc, PhD, RP (Qualifying)

Website

milevapsychotherapy@gmail.com

Services provided:

Whether you're struggling with infertility, going through assisted reproductive technologies, or dealing with pregnancy loss, I am here to provide a safe and compassionate space for you to heal and grow. My aim is to empower you, help you develop coping strategies, and enhance your overall well-being, regardless of the outcome of your fertility journey. Together, we'll explore your feelings, navigate the complexities of medical treatments, and cultivate a sense of hope and resilience. My approach is client-centered and eclectic, meaning that I tailor my therapeutic interventions to meet your unique needs and goals."

Please note: a psychotherapist is unable to provide assessment/diagnosis (clinical psychologist) or medication (psychiatrist/family physician). Also at this time I am unable to provide implications counselling for third-party reproduction.

Rate: $145 per session

Please email for more information or to book a free 15-minute consultation

Ziva Shmorgun MSW, RSW

Reproductive Health Counsellor.
Specializing in implications counselling for third-party reproduction.
shmorgunz@gmail.com

New Origins Counselling

Website
Karin Schwartz: 604-831-6558
Janna Stark Glassman: 604-671-5068
Rate: $165 per hour
Please call to book an appointment

Peer support

Ottawa Peer Support Group: Join others each month to listen, learn, and hopefully laugh a little while you seek support. Meetings are held at the Ottawa Fertility Centre on the last Saturday of every month. Sessions are organized and led by a volunteer facilitator. Guest speakers are often invited to speak after the meetings.

Contact Angela at : Ottawa.infertility.liason@gmail.com

2023 Meeting Dates:

Saturday, December 30th - 10:30am-12:00pm

2024 Meeting Dates:

Saturday, January 27th   - 10:30am-12:00pm

Saturday, February 24th - 10:30am-12:00pm

Saturday, March 30th - 10:30am-12:00pm

Saturday, April 27th - 10:30am-12:00pm

Saturday, May 25th - 10:30am-12:00pm

Saturday, June 29th - 10:30am-12:00pm

Saturday, July 27th - 10:30am-12:00pm

Saturday, August 31st - 10:30am-12:00pm

Saturday, September 28th - 10:30am-12:00pm

Saturday, October 26th - 10:30am-12:00pm

Saturday, November 30th - 10:30am-12:00pm

Mindfulness for Fertility

If you are dealing with challenging emotions because you are struggling to conceive, you are not alone. It is common to feel anxious, depressed, and isolated. It has been well documented that people with reproductive challenges experience high levels of stress and studies have shown that mindfulness can help decrease emotional distress. Mindfulness for Fertility is an 8-week evidence based, experiential program that is offered online and follows the world renowned Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) curriculum.

Spring 2023 Session:

Orientation - Friday, April 28th / 7:00-9:00pm ET
8 Fridays -  May 5th - June 23rd / 7:00-9:00pm ET

Visit their website for more information and registration.

Play Video

General Information

Fertility Matters is a national organization, providing educational material, support and assistance to individuals and couples who are experiencing the anguish of infertility, the reproductive health disease that affects over half a million Canadian men and women.

My Fertility Choices enables men and women to obtain support in making the fertility and childbearing decisions that best fit with their unique life situations. The website provides current, professional, and reliable information about fertility, assisted human reproduction, and various lifestyle and family building options, including childfree living.

Single Mothers

Single Mother by Choice is a local Ottawa area group for those women who may already be a ‘Choice Mom’ or for those women who are thinking of proactively becoming a single mother.

LGBTQ

Finding information and support to suit your unique circumstance can be a challenge. There are some good resources available for men and women within the LGBTQ community who are looking at options for having a family.

Fertility Matters

LGBTQ groups in Ottawa (non-fertility specific)

Pregnancy in a Pandemic Support Group

Join this monthly virtual support group led by doctors who specialize in obstetrics, newborn care, and the mental health of new parents.  They will speak about the most common concerns and struggles of being pregnant during the COVID-19 crisis.

Pregnancy in a Pandemic

Multiple Births

Multiple Births Canada has a mission to improve the quality of life for multiple birth individuals and their families in Canada. They provide support, education, research, and advocacy both nationally and internationally to individuals, families, Chapters, and organizations that have a personal or professional interest in multiple birth issues.

Support for people with polycystic ovary syndrome

PCOSupport Group is US based organization that is operated by women with PCOS and those who support them. This organization is dedicated to serve the many women who struggle on a daily basis to deal with quality-of-life as well as life-threatening consequences of PCOS if untreated.

Legal Advisors

It is important for patients to seek appropriate legal advice when a third party is involved, either as a donor or surrogate. While we do not endorse any lawyer or legal form in particular, the following firms have experience with assisted reproduction.

Erin Lepine, LLB – Richardson Hall (Ottawa) elepine@richardsonhall.com
Sara Cohen, LLB – Fertility Law Canada (Toronto)
Sherry Levitan, LLB – Fertility Law (Toronto)

Scroll To Top